MALLORY PARK



ASTON MARTINS jostle for position out of the Mallory hairpin.

Miller plays joker

he AMOC put on a packed afternoon of racing at its first ever Mallory Park meeting. Race of the day, however, came as Graham Miller and Dave Jarman continually traded the lead before Miller won the WRDA Championship race.

The Inter-Marque race saw Elbow and dipping his Marcos mice

the gravel trap. Chris Reece was third in another Elan ahead of Kerry Horan's TVR Griffith and the Lotus Elites of Roger Fountain and Christopher Ross.

Martin McGlone won the Aston Martin and Pre War Sports Car race despite a quick off at Shaws which Heynes was never again challenged for the lead of the Post-War Aston race. Stephen Wakefield never quite challenged the leader in his DB4, while third finisher Ronnie Farmer had driven his DB5 up there from the back of the grid. Geoffrey Harris took fourth in the Zagato, then came Foster and another back row starting DB4, with John Goldsmith at the wheel.

After early exchanges of position, Chris Montague managed to fend off Peter May's attempts to oust him from the lead of the Austin Healey race. Simon Page soon took third from Hugh Leventon, who would lose another place to Robert Nettleton as Sprites dominated out front.

His spin in an earlier race seemed to have fired up Pete Foster as his DB4 snarled away from the Thoroughbred Sports Car field. More DB4s - in the hands of Stephen Wakefield, David Heynes and John Goldsmith - ran closely in second to fourth places. Ronnie Farmer again started from the back of the grid, this time finishing sixth in his DB5, with Alan Charlton's Triumph TR6 in his sights.

It was Toyota Starlet versus Datsun 240Z and place change after place change before Graham Miller's Starlet took the chequered flag 0.06s in front of Dave Jarman. The WRDA Sports/Saloon Championship runners headed home a combined race with the Jaguar XK Saloons. The latter section was dominated by George Page's 340. Much closer were the second and third finishing Mk2s of

MALLORY PARK AUGUST 7, AMOC

Intermarque Championship - 15 laps: 1, M.Millard (Ferrari BB512) 13m 03.4s (93.06mph); 2, A.Shepherd (AC Cobra); 3, Shepherd (AC Cobra); 4, J.Bendail (AC Cobra); 5, A.Mills-Thomas (AC Cobra); 6, G.Harris (Aston Martin DB4 Zagato). Class winners and fastest laps: J.Haddon (Porschel 11E) 57.8s (84.08mph); Millard 51.0s (95.29mph).

HSCC Classic Sports Car Championship & Goldsmith and Young Thoroughbred Sports Car Championship, Class A - 8 laps: 1, D.Methley (Marcos GT) 7m 19.2s (88.52mph); 2, G.Wainwright (Lotus Elan); 3, C.Reece (Lotus Elan); 4, K.Horan (TVR Griffith 400); 5, R.Fountain (Lotus Elite); 6, C.Ross (Lotus Elite); Class winners and fastest laps: Fountain 58.4s (83.22mph); Wainwright 52.5s (92.57mph); Methley 53.7s (90.50mph); Horan 58.2s (83.51mph).

Pre-War Sports Cars with Feitham Aston Martins race - 12 laps: 1, M.McGlone (Aston Martin DB3S) 12m 12.7s (79.60mph); 2, A.Hodge (Aston Martin DB3); 3, D.Reed (Aston Martin DB3); 4, J.Gross (Aston Martin DB3); 5, R.Spiers (Alvis Speed 25); 6, D.Taylor (Aston Martin Le Mans). Class winners and fastest laps: Reed 1m 01.6s (78.90mph); Hodge 1m 00.0s (81.00mph); McGlone 59.5s (81.68mph); K.Piper (Aston Martin Le Mans) in 10.5s (68.84mph); P.Bell (Aston Martin Le Mans) in 10.5s (68.64mph); Taylor 1m 05.2s (74.54mph); Spiers 1m 02.1s (78.26mph).

Cox and Buckles Triumph TR Register Championship - 12 laps: 1, C.Pendle (TR7 V8) 10m 58.4s (86.58mph); 2, J.Henderson (TR6); 3, L.Parkes (TR7 V8); 4, A.Tompkins (TR4); 5, C.Cowing (TR6); 6, S.Knowles (TR6). Class winners: E.Driver (TR2), Tompkins, Cowling and Pendle, Fastest laps: Driver 58.7s (82.79mph); Tompkins 55.6s (87.41mph); Knowles 55.7s (87.25mph); Pendle 53.1s (91.53mph).

The Grantchester Post-War Aston Martin Race
- 12 laps: 1, D.Heynes (DB4) 10m 59.3s
(88.46mph); 2, S.Wakefield (DB4); 3, R.Farmer
(DB5); 4, G.Marris (DB4 Zagato); 5, P.Foster

Goldsmith and Young Thoroughbred Sports Car Championship - 12 laps: 1, P.Foster (Aston Martin DB4) 10m 52.5s (98.37mph); 2, S. Wakefield (Aston Martin DB4); 3, D.Heynes (Aston Martin DB4); 4, J.Goldsmith (Aston Martin DB4); 5, A.Chariton (Triumph TR6); 6, P.Farmer (Aston Martin DB5). Class winners and fastest laps: Chariton 54.0s (90.00mph); Foster 53.1s (91.53mph).

Foster 53.1s (91.53mph).

PJCC Bridgestone Jaguar XK Saloon Car Challenge and WRDA Champlonship - 12 laps: 1, G.Miller (Toyota Starlet) 10m 45.6s (90.33mph); 2, D.Jarman (Datsun 240Z); 3, M.Davles (Ford Sapphire Cosworth); 4, S.Crompton (BMW M3); 5, B.Haywood (Renault 5 GT Turbo); 6, K.Butcher (Ford Escort XR3I), Class winners: G.Page (Jaguar 340), A.Harnmond (Jaguar Mk2) and Miller. Fastest laps: Page 55.9s (82.51mph); Hammond 1m 02.2s (78.14mph); Jarman 52.2s (93.10mph). (93.10mph)

(93.10mph).

Brooks AMOC/HSCC Historic Car Champlonship - 12 laps: 1, A.Wilkinson (Lotus XI Le Mans) 11m 47.2s (82.47mph); 2, J.Woodley (Lotus XVII); 3, A.Hali (AC Ace); 4, K.Horan (Aliard K2); 5, M.McGlone (Aston Martin DB3S); 6, R.Biss (Lotus XI). Class winners and fastest laps: Wilkinson 57.7s (84.23mph); Horan 1m 01.1s (79.54mph); Hali 1m 00.3s (80.60mph); T.Hassell (Austin Healey 100M) 1m 09.6s (69.83mph).

Allcomers race - 12 laps: 1, D.Ellis (Aston Martin V8) 9m 40.0s (100.55mph); 2, W.Banks (MGB GT V8); 3, T.Taylor (GTD GT40); 4, C.Pendle (Triumph TR7 V8); 5, S.Page (Austin Healey Sprite); 6, J.Hazzard (Jensen Healey). Class winners and fastest laps: G.Riseley(Haigue 74) 1m 04.2s (75.70mph); Banks 52.0s (93.46mph); Ellis 44.9s (108.24mph).

CADWELL PARK AUGUST 7, BRSCC

Driving for Life Ford XR3i and Vecta Max Power Challenge, Class C - 10 laps: 1, R.Clark (RS1600) 17m 41.5s (73.59mph); 2, M.Slater (RS1600); 3, L.Gage (Escort Mk3); 4, P.Cawsey (Flesta XR2); 5, J.Griffiths (Flesta XR2); 6, A.Daly (Flesta XR2), Class winners: Clark and K.Gore (Escort XR3), Fastest laps: Clark 1m 44.7s (74.61mph); A.Smith (XR3i) 1m 51.9s (69.81mph).

10 Phoenix Petroleum MGCC Challenge

gan. Fastest lap: Doble 1m 32.4s (84.54mph) RECORD.

Falken Tyres Modified Production Saloons - 10 laps: 1, C.Davies (Ford Sapphire) 18m 00.0s (72.33mph); 2, G.Cain (Rover SD1); 3, S.Austin (Ford Escort RS2000); 4, J.Warren (Ford Capri); 5, T.Shaw (Ford Escort RS2000); 6, P.Rowley (Mitsubishi Starion), Class winers: Davies and Cain. Fastest laps: Davies 1m 45.9s (73.76mph) RECORD; Cain 1m 46.4s (73.42mph).

Phoenix Petroleum MGCC Challenge - 8 laps: 1, P.Sibley (Midget) 14m 22.1s (72.49mph); 2, S.Musk (Midget); 3, S.Hutchinson (Midget); 4, K.Tempest (Midget); 5, R.McCann (Sprite); 6, A.Talbot (Metro). Class winners: Sibley and Talbot. Fastest laps: J.Sole (Midget) 1m 45.0s (74.40mph); T.Howe (Metro) 1m 50.7s (70.56mph).

Vecta Max Power Challenge - 7 laps: 1, G.Lloyd (Escort Cosworth) 11m 56.9s (76.27mph); 2, R.Hutchings (Escort RS2000); 3, A.McKever (Escort Cosworth); 4, J.Francisco (Escort RS2000); 5, J.Arnold (Escort RS2000); 6, L.Stacey (Sierra RS500). Class winners: Lloyd and Hutchings, Fastest laps: Stacey 1m 40.7s (77.57mph); Francisco 1m 42.5s (76.21mph).

Falken Tyres Modified Production Saloons 10 laps: 1, A.Clarkin (Talbot Sumbeam Lotus) 18m 15.2s (71.32mph); 2, J.Hammersley (Vauxhall Astra GTE 16v); 3, M.Helm (Ford Flesta); 4, J.Griffiths (Ford Flesta); 5, R.Hill (Austin Cooper S); 6, I.Robinson (Ford Flesta XR2). Class winners: Clarkin and Helm. Fastest laps: Hammersley 1m 47.4s (72.73mph); Griffiths 1m 45.3s (74.13mph) RECORD.

Vecta Max Power Challenge, Class C - 10 laps: 1, L.Allen (Escort Mk5) 17m 43.0s (73.79mph); 2, R.Clark (RS1600); 3, A.Daly (Flesta XR2); 4, R.Stafford (Flesta XR2); 5, G.Osborne (Flesta); 6, R.Norman (Escort Mk1), Fastest lap: Clark 1m 44.3s (74.89mph) RECORD.

DONINGTON PARK **AUGUST 7, BARC**

M&G International MGOC Championship, Classes B/C - 7 laps: 1, A.Oisson (Maestro) 11m 07.21s (73.91mph); 2, R.Oidershaw (Maestro); 3, T.Farman (Montego); 4, A.Groo-